CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/) British Columbia Geocaching Association —» Forums —» BCGA —» Website Questions —» Blitz caches in Google Earth
Home Newest Caches Forums Your Account About BCGA Search Blitz  
Legislative Buildings
Legislative Buildings:  [?] . 3,300 light bulbs outline the exterior of British Columbia's Parliament Buildings. [M | C
Toggle Content=  Register or Login  Please Join our Association 
topleft topfill topright
Toggle Content Our Sponsors
Caching Containers
Worldcaching.comLandsharkz Coins and Geocaching GearGold CountryCaching Containers
bottomleft bottomfill bottomright
topleft topfill topright
Toggle Content Waypoints
bottomleft bottomfill bottomright
topleft topfill topright
Toggle Content Coming Events
bottomleft bottomfill bottomright
Forums —» BCGA —» Website Questions —» Blitz caches in Google Earth
topleft topfill topright
LOG-IN DIFFICULTIES
Please be advised that we are currently having problems with some of our users not being able to log into the site. We apologize for this, we are working to address the situation. Thank you for your patience

Thank You
BCGA Executive

bottomleft bottomfill bottomright
toplefttopfilltopright
Blitz caches in Google Earth
Questions, comments and suggestions about this website? Post them here.
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index —» Website Questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_canadianbacon_



Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 6:22 am    Post subject: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

On the left menu you will now see a link that will create a Google Earth KML file of the blitz caches. This is for BCGA members only.

Google Earth is a free download you can get at earth.google.com/

_________________
~~~~ _CanadianBacon_~~~~
Back to top
tjguy98



Joined: Aug 06, 2005
Posts: 206
Location: Maple Ridge

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 8:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Now that's kinda cool! Good job CB....

_________________
Read about my geocaching adventures on my website at:
tjguy98.blogspot.com/
Back to top
CAMOKELLY



Joined: Mar 24, 2008
Posts: 482
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

I have Google Earth but that file doesn't open for me. It says it is a PHP_auto_file?
Back to top
Mach2003dead



Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: x

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:21 am    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Tell us more, Kelly.

Click the waypoints item (or right click, open in a new tab/window). In the file dialog click: open. Googel Earth will load (if it is not alreday loaded), and the Blitz caches will be there (in temporary places).
Back to top
Teddy2k



Joined: Sep 12, 2008
Posts: 358
Location: Rosedale, BC

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 11:17 am    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

I don't seem to see the link anywhere.... is it only for official BCGA members? I faxed my application to 250-479-5009 4 days ago, but haven't heard anything back yet.
Back to top
Mach2003dead



Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: x

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 11:20 am    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Teddy2k wrote:
I don't seem to see the link anywhere.... is it only for official BCGA members? I faxed my application to 250-479-5009 4 days ago, but haven't heard anything back yet.
Yes it is Members Only.
Your membership should be processed soon, these things take some time...
Back to top
_canadianbacon_



Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

By the way, the coordinates of these caches are randomly altered to not reveal the real location, it is an approximation between +/- 60 seconds minutes from actual coordinates.

_________________
~~~~ _CanadianBacon_~~~~
Back to top
_canadianbacon_



Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 2:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

_canadianbacon_ wrote:
By the way, the coordinates of these caches are randomly altered to not reveal the real location, it is an approximation between +/- 60 seconds minutes from actual coordinates.
\

I have to laugh, because when I first built this database I used my own data to seed the caches, but I forgot that I had a lot of puzzle solutions in my GSAK data! Oops! It has since been fixed.

_________________
~~~~ _CanadianBacon_~~~~
Back to top
CAMOKELLY



Joined: Mar 24, 2008
Posts: 482
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Tried the right click thing and same result. My google earth opens but no caches on the map. Just my push pins i have added.
Back to top
goaliegirl38



Joined: Apr 19, 2008
Posts: 148
Location: Pitt Meadows, Burnaby, or driving in between

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Sorry, I've had a bunch of memberships come through all at once, and I already work 2 jobs... hope to have everyone all updated tonight!
Back to top
Mach2003dead



Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: x

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

TESKELLY wrote:
Tried the right click thing and same result. My google earth opens but no caches on the map. Just my push pins i have added.

What operating system MAC or PC?
What Browser IE, Firefox, Safari...?

Does the file still have an unusual name (other than blitz.kml)?
Can you load the file I linked to in the blitz thread?

Email me directly my username (==< over there) at bcgeocaching.com, then we can swap screen shots and things.
Back to top
CAMOKELLY



Joined: Mar 24, 2008
Posts: 482
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 8:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

What operating system MAC or PC?
What Browser IE, Firefox, Safari...?

Does the file still have an unusual name (other than blitz.kml)?
Can you load the file I linked to in the blitz thread?

Email me directly my username (==< over there) at bcgeocaching.com, then we can swap screen shots and things.[/quote]

PC
IE
File says PHP_auto_file
Back to top
_canadianbacon_



Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 8:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Google earth is a free google tool. I only know of the windows version, i have not looked for anything else other than that.

_________________
~~~~ _CanadianBacon_~~~~
Back to top
vnm747



Joined: Apr 13, 2008
Posts: 48
Location: BC

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 9:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Works just fine for me on a imac g5. I'm impressed.
Back to top
goaliegirl38



Joined: Apr 19, 2008
Posts: 148
Location: Pitt Meadows, Burnaby, or driving in between

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Teddy2k wrote:
I don't seem to see the link anywhere.... is it only for official BCGA members? I faxed my application to 250-479-5009 4 days ago, but haven't heard anything back yet.

All done, every application I have, that has an online account, has been updated and is ready to go!
Back to top
Mach2003dead



Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 263
Location: x

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 8:15 am    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

TESKELLY wrote:

PC
IE
File says PHP_auto_file

Try renaming the file to "blitz.kml" then double clicking it to open it.
Back to top
CAMOKELLY



Joined: Mar 24, 2008
Posts: 482
Location: Abbotsford BC

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 4:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Blitz caches in Google Earth Reply with quote

Mach2003 wrote:
TESKELLY wrote:

PC
IE
File says PHP_auto_file

Try renaming the file to "blitz.kml" then double clicking it to open it.

Bingo you da man Mach2003
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index —» Website Questions
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT - 8 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


bottomleftbottomright
topleft topfill topright
Advertisement
bottomleft bottomfill bottomright

:: Copyright 2003 - 2009 BC Geocaching Association ::

RSS Feed:
Follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/BCGeocaching
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Theme by British Columbia Geocaching Association.